The city of Ahrensburg in Schleswig Holstein now has a publicly accessible solar filling station for electric vehicles. The operator HanseWerk AG officially opened the facility at number 10, Kornkamp on 14 May 2018. The electric vehicles will be refuelled by renewable energy produced and stored on site and driven completely emission-free.

and conventional alternating current (AC) charging (charging time dependent on vehicle type: 1 to 5 hours) and user-friendly operation via chip card or smartphone (SMS), the solar filling station provides the greatest possible flexibility for e-car owners. For the first few months, recharging services will be free. The facility is the first of its kind in terms of combining on-site energy production (photovoltaic system with a capacity of approx. 12 kWp) and on-site energy storage (battery storage 36kW/36.8 kWh). The energy flow (generation, storage, consumption) will be displayed on-screen to the user on location.

The Federal Ministry of Transport and Digital Infrastructure (BMV) is funding the measures in the framework of the federal model project: “HansE”, which began in 2015, through which the needs-based construction of charging infrastructure for electric cars is supported in the metropolitan region of Hamburg. Districts, counties, towns and municipalities in the north thus get the opportunity to develop a common, standardised and quality assured strategy for electric mobility and to participate in the selection of locations for a total of 50 readily accessible charging points for electric cars in the metropolitan region. Project partners are the offices of the Hamburg metropolitan region (regional coordination and communication), the Institute of Urban and Transport Planning (scientific direction), HanseWerk AG and Uniper Technologies GmbH (development and operation of charging infrastructure) as well as the Hamburg project coordinating body for electric mobility, hySOLUTIONS GmbH (project management). The whole project will be funded with around 1.8 million euros by the federal government.