US Deputy Secretary of Transportation Polly Trottenberg visits NOW GmbH.

Deputy Secretary of Transportation of the United States of America, Polly Trottenberg, visited NOW GmbH in Berlin today. She primarily informed herself about the federal government’s approach to expanding charging infrastructure, particularly with regard to the work carried out in the National Centre for Charging Infrastructure. Discussion points included the ‘Germany network’ (Deutschlandnetz), the fast-charging network for cars, as well as the planned initial charging network for e-trucks and the significance of trucks with fuel cell drives.

Kurt-Christoph von Knobelsdorff, CEO and Spokesperson, NOW GmbH, said: “Transforming the transport sector to protect the climate poses a great challenge for all nations. That’s why exchanging information is important and helpful. It is a great honour for us that Deputy Secretary Trottenberg took the time to visit NOW GmbH and inform herself about the German strategy. Germany leads the way in expanding charging infrastructure in Europe and is more ambitious than EU legislation requires. However, climate protection only works globally. With this in mind, we are happy to share our expertise with international visitors and we are interested in the approaches and progress of other countries.”

About NOW GmbH

Since 2008, NOW GmbH has been supporting the federal government’s targets in its climate and industrial policy. The tasks of the federally-owned company include developing, monitoring and evaluating funding programmes about climate-neutral mobility and energy supply. NOW GmbH experts supervise projects in the areas of hydrogen, fuel cells, battery and renewable fuels.  They reimagine mobility and fuels for cars, buses, trains, commercial vehicles, ships and airplanes, and support the establishment and further development of charging infrastructure and hydrogen refuelling stations for cars and trucks. More information on NOW can be found here.

Photo: l-r: Sabrina Sussmann, Virginia Christochowitz, Julie Abraham, Johannes Daum, Polly Trottenberg, Kurt-Christoph von Knobelsdorff, Shelia Helton-Ingram, Johannes Pallasch, Leann Sinpatanaskul, Dr. Katrin Jordan-Korte, Jeff Bowan

Image rights: © Franz Josef, Berlin