4th “Elektromobilität vor Ort” conference on electric mobility

Federal transport supports: procurement of electric vehicles and recharging infrastructure in more than 70 municipalities / New programme envisages 15,000 recharging columns by 2020 / Good examples of municipal implementation presented / 400 participants at conference in Munich

Berlin, Munich, 21 February 2017 – With the 4th “Elektromobilität vor Ort” conference on electric mobility, the Federal Ministry for Transport and Digital Infrastructure (BMVI – Bundesministerium für Verkehr und digitale Infrastruktur) continued its series on the promotion of the development of electric mobility in a local and regional context. The conference, which this time took place in Munich and attended by approximately 400 participants, has proven itself throughout Germany to be a key forum for exchange among municipal representatives, local companies and transport organisations as well as fleet operators.

A main focus of the event is the presentation and discussion of strategic measures and technical prerequisites for the development of the necessary refuelling and recharging infrastructure. With the commencement of the federal recharging infrastructure funding programme, the BMVI is allocating funds totalling 300 million euros for the establishment of a comprehensive recharging infrastructure with 15,000 recharging stations throughout the country. From 1 March 2017 onwards, private investors, cities and municipalities can submit funding applications. As part of the electric mobility funding guideline, which has been effective since 2015, more than 70 municipalities throughout Germany could receive support for the procurement of electric vehicles and establishment of the corresponding recharging infrastructure.

Funding programmes for recharging infrastructure and electric mobility are coordinated by the National Organisation for Hydrogen and Fuel Cell Technology (NOW GmbH). In addition, NOW also coordinates the implementation of the National Innovation Programme Hydrogen and Fuel Cell Technology (NIP) and supports the Federal Transport Ministry in the development and implementation of the mobility and fuel strategy (Mobilitäts- und Kraftstoffstrategie).

NOW Managing Director Dr. Klaus Bonhoff:
“Electric mobility must establish itself quickly in inner city areas in order to effectively counter the transgression of pollutant emission limits. In view of realising the federal government’s climate protection goals – a 40 percent reduction in CO2 emission in the transport sector by 2030 – the share of electric vehicles being newly registered must swiftly reach the double-digit level.”

As a platform for the user-side of electric mobility in a local context, the “Elektromobilität vor Ort” conference presents many positive examples and provides insights for the comprehensive deployment of electric vehicles in the municipal and commercial area as well as for the strategic expansion of the recharging infrastructure. Details on current developments in terms of the implementation of electric mobility in rail transportation as well as practice-oriented information on formal application criteria along with details on deadlines for current funding possibilities, round out the programme.

Further information concerning all current and completed projects is documented in the project finder.

Dr. Klaus Bonhoff (Geschäftsführer NOW GmbH) und Stephanie Jacobs (Referentin für Gesundheit und Umwelt der Landeshauptstadt München)(re.)
Norbert Barthle, Parlamentarischer Staatssekretär beim Bundesminister für Verkehr und digitale Infrastruktur
Birgitta Worringen Leiterin Unterabteilung „Nachhaltige Mobilität, Energie, Logistik“ im Bundesministerium für Verkehr und digitale Infrastruktur
Dr. Klaus Bonhoff, NOW-Geschäftsführer (Sprecher)
Silke Wilhelm (NOW GmbH)
Dr. Wolfgang Fischer (e-mobil BW GmbH)
Johannes Pallasch (NOW GmbH)
Eva Ackermann (Referat Elektromobilität, BMVI)
Waldemar Brost (RWTH Aachen)
Prof. Dr. Dietmar Göhlich (TU Berlin), Prof. Dr. Jürgen Siegmann (TU Berlin)
Andreas Frixen (Alstom Transport)
Oliver Braune (NOW GmbH)
Dominik Borowski (Referat Elektromobilität, BMVI)
Andreas Eibensteiner (Fraport)
Christian Drakulic (BMVIT)
Jürgen Papajewski (Leiter des Referates Elektromobilität, BMVI)